Tuesday, June 23, 2009

A bit more about me...




Hi, my name is Karen. I grew up on a farm in southwestern North Dakota with my parents and two older sisters.

Someone was always sewing... I had a toy sewing machine and learned to sew on a real machine I think when I was maybe 4 years old by just turning the flywheel. Somewhere down the line I advanced to sewing with the pedal and electricity! From when I was young until I left home, I primarily sewed clothing. I even took a sewing class in college at NDSU... I think it was one of my few As' in college!

After college and working a few years, I got married and we move to the Houston, Texas area. We had a very small one bedroom apartment that I was determined to make a home, so I moved on to decorating: sewing duvet covers, slip covers and window treatments. After a few years we moved into our first house and then came more window treatments & duvet covers... I did move up to lined pinch pleated drapes though, I am proud to say.

Next came baby and of course a serger to sew baby clothes! Shortly after the baby arrived, we decided we wanted to be closer to our families in North Dakota and Minnesota and moved back north to the Minneapolis area.

Since we have been in our house here in Minnesota, I have accumulated much fabric with grand visions of silk and/toile drapes for various rooms... and of course then there is all the quilting fabric now that I have been bit by the quilting bug! Needless to say, chasing after children left me less that motivated or organized to get done what I had hoped... it's just not as easy to manage your time with all the unpredictible interuptions!
Now that my youngest is getting older and life gradually becomes more sane, I hope to accomplish some of these projects which have been left undone and to have more time for myself to devote to learning a new and very wonderful hobby: QUILTING!

0 comments: